Department of Physics



The Department of Physics was started to offer under graduate course in Physics in the year 1985. Prof. C. D. Ben was the HoD of Physics in the year 1988. Under his leadership, the Department was upgraded into post graduate department of Physics in the year 1991.

The Department has a team of seven Assistant Professors headed by Mr. R. Ulaganathan. Special area of interest of faculties are well versed in “Crystal Growth and Characterization”, “Nano Technology” and “Thin Film”. Three of the faculties have completed their Ph. D. They are experts in their fields of interest. The faculties have published research papers both in national and international journals. Similarly, they have presented their research findings as papers in national conferences and seminars.

Accumulation of knowledge from books and journals and through researches makes the faculties to teach classes even at the PG level. Industrial visit is encouraged to students which provides a live exposure on the working of industries. Endowment prizes are awarded to fabulous outstanding students. Prof. C. D. Ben and Mrs. R. K. Viji have instituted two such endowments.